The Dalles Area Watershed
Wasco Co. SWCD
USDA Service Center
2325 River Rd. Ste. 3
The Dalles, OR 97058
Office Hours
Monday thru Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Closed Holidays
Ph: 541-296-6178 ext 3
Fax: 541-296-7868
photo: TD Orchards 1961
The Dalles Watershed area is 82,406 acres, or 129 square miles. The Dalles Watershed is oriented in a southwest to northeast direction in the eastern foothills of the Cascade Range and on the western edge of the Columbia Plateau.

 The Dalles Watershed is comprised of five sub-watersheds: Rowena/Hidden Valley, Chenowith/Brown’s Creek, Mill Creek, Dry Hollow, and Three Mile. All of the sub-watersheds drain in a southwest to northeast direction. The watershed is bounded by the Columbia River on the north, Mosier Creek Watershed and the Hood River basin on the west and Fifteenmile Watershed to the south and east. The elevation ranges from 4900 feet at the headwaters of Mill Creek, to 98 feet at the Columbia River. The watershed includes the City of The Dalles along the Columbia River.

 The urban area is included in portions of Three Mile, Dry Hollow, Mill Creek, and Chenowith sub-watersheds. The Rowena sub-watershed contains a short drainage west of the community of Rowena that roughly parallels Rowena Creek, but on the eastern side of Rowena Ridge. This drainage flows from the east side of McCall Point, down a steep ravine and empties into a small bay at Mayer State Park on the Columbia River. Other features in the sub-watershed include Foley Lakes, Gooseberry Creek and a number of small wetlands.
The Dalles Watershed Council - Link
Historical Snapshot
Contact Us
Privacy Statement
The Dalles Watershed Assessment
Copyright (C) 2019 Wasco Co. SWCD All Rights Reserved
Wasco County Soil and Water Conservation District (WCSWCD) and its partner, the USDA NRCS prohibit discrimination against employees, partners, and participants for programs, services and employment. WCSWCD and USDA NRCS are Equal Opportunity Employers.